Home > 2012 Calendar > October 21, 2012 – Bryant Park Quartet


General Info


Contact Us

Founders & VIPs

Concert Archive

Thank you to all of our donors and especially to the Robinson-Broadhurst Foundation and to the
A. Lindsay and Olive B. O'Connor Foundation for your generous support which makes this concert possible.

Top of Page


October 21, 2012

Bryant Park Quartet
Anna Elashvili, violin
Ben Russell, violin
Nathan Schram, viola
Tomoko Fujita, cello

Continuing our 26th Season, Friends of Music is honored to present the Bryant Park Quartet in performance at 3:00 PM on Sunday, October 21, 2012. The group features Anna Elashvili and Ben Russell, violins; Nathan Schram, viola and Tomoko Fujita, cello. It was through Anna Elashvili, an alumna of the 2011 Silver Jubilee Chamber Ensemble, that we were introduced to the group and we are indeed fortunate that they are willing to play for us in Stamford.

Photo of the Bryant Park Quartet

Bryant Park Quartet (l to r): Nathan Schram, viola; Anna Elashvili, violin; Ben Russell, violin and Tomoko Fujita, cello.  Photo by Beowulf Sheehan.


Based in New York City and formed in 2006, the Bryant Park Quartet has developed into an accomplished and acclaimed string quartet. Through its series “The rEvolving Ear,” the group has created programs that explore some of the connections between established and contemporary music, programs that inspire new ways to listen to and appreciate historical works that have inspired works by contemporary composers.

The Bryant Park Quartet (BPQ) is also dedicated to extensive community outreach through performance, lecture/demonstrations and a creative approach to music education. They seek to increase “awareness of the value of chamber music” through their commendable commitment to education programs at many levels, from public schools to private universities, and to community from business locations to private homes to public performing arts centers. The audience at this small venue in the Catskills is no doubt the beneficiary of this idealism and commitment.

The Bryant Park Quartet has been coached by members of the Brentano, Borromeo, Cavani, Cleveland, Emerson and Juilliard String Quartets and by such luminaries as Itzhak Perlman, Heidi Castleman, Colin Carr, Kathy Murdock and Roger Tapping.


The BPQ was a 2010 prizewinner in the Hugo Kauder International Music Competition and its members individually are highly regarded as well. Two of its artists, Anna Elashvili and Nathan Schram, were each fellows of The Academy at Carnegie Hall, a joint effort of the Juilliard School, the Weill Music Institute and Carnegie Hall to nurture young musicians at the highest level. The Academy seeks to help the selected exceptionally talented young people develop their careers and thrive in current circumstances while serving as "evangelists" for classical music in order to assure its survival.

Ms. Elashvili became Mr. Schram's Academy mentor, and he joined the BPQ in 2011 when previous violist Adam Meyer became a dean at the Juilliard School. Nathan Schram was featured on National Public Radio reports about The Academy, three times during his first year with the program and again when his two-year term was completed.

Click here to read more about the artists of the Bryant Park Quartet on this site, or to read more about the group and its admirable mission and listen to some of their work please visit their Web site at bryantparkquartet.com.

The program for October 21st is listed below.


October 21, 2012

Bryant Park Quartet

Anna Elashvili, violin
Ben Russell, violin
Nathan Schram, viola
Tomoko Fujita, cello

“Alleged Minimalism”


Mille Regretz
El Grillo

Josquin des Prez
(c. 1450/1455 - 1521)
arr. Bryant Park Quartet


String Quartet in F Minor, Op. 20, No. 5………………………

Franz Joseph Haydn

Allegro moderato
Finale: Fuga a due Soggetti
(1732 - 1809)

Selections from: John’s Book of Alleged Dances…………

John Adams
(b. 1947)

** Intermission **


Structures for String Quartet (1951)……………………………

Morton Feldman
(1926 - 1987)

String Quartet in G Minor, Op. 10 (1893) ……………………

Claude Debussy

Animé et très décidé
Assez vif et bien rythmé
Andantino, doucement expressif
Très modéré - En animant peu à peu - Très mouvementé et avec passion

© 2004 - 2014 Friends of Music of Stamford NY, Inc. — All Rights Reserved