Friends of Music Logo


Mariesther Alvarez,
Marielisa Alvarez
and Tae Kim


June 15, 2014

3:00 PM at
Robinson Terrace Living Center
28652 Hwy 23, Stamford NY Calendar General Info Contact FoM Donate Founders & VIPs Concert Archive
Photo of violinist Mariesther Alvarez. Photo of violinist Marielisa Alvarez.
Photo of pianist Tae Kim.

June artists, pictured left to right, above: Mariesther Alvarez, violin; Marielisa Alvarez, violin. At left: Tae Kim, piano.

Please join us for the third concert of our 28th Season to hear a very different program thanks to a somewhat unusual combination of two violins and a piano. This international group of fine young musicians come to Stamford from their current homes in Boston.

Violinists Marielisa Alvarez and Mariesther Alvarez are sisters, originally from Venezuela, where they received musical training through the famed El Sistema program. The women have shared the highly successful approach of El Sistema to engage some of the young people of Boston with the joys of making classical music.

Friends of Music knows of the Alvarez sisters through Board Member Ilkka Kalliomaa and our friend pianist Paavali Jumpannen. When Mr. Jumpannen was working on his fellowship at Harvard University he befriended and worked with the two Ms. Alvarez and they continue to collaborate when the women tour in Finland.

Ilkka is generally quite sparing in his praise of musicians but he is extremely enthusiastic about these two violinists, so we can safely assume they are phenomenally gifted. No doubt they choose their collaborators carefully and Mr. Kim will prove to be equally talented. We have been hoping for several years they would perform for us here and we are truly delighted they will journey to the Catskills for the June 15 concert.


June 15, 2014

Mariesther Alvarez, violin
Marielisa Alvarez, violin
Tae Kim, piano

Sonata in G minor, Op. 2 No. 7 for
Two Violins and Piano

George Frideric Handel




Five Pieces for Two Violins and Piano

Dmitri Shostakovich (1906-1975)





Fantasie in C, Op. 17 for Piano

Robert Schumann (1810-1856)


Durchaus fantastisch und leidenschaftlich vorzutragen; Im Legenden-Ton



Sonata para Dos Violines y Piano

Federico Ruiz


Allegro energico
Andante espressivo
Allegro festivo



Suite in G minor, Op. 71 for
Two Violins and Piano

Maurice Moszkowski (1854-1925)


Allegro energico
Allegro moderato
Lento assai
Molto vivace

Click here or on their photos at left to read about
Mariesther Alvarez, Marielisa Alvarez and Tae Kim

Thank you to all of our donors and especially to the Robinson-Broadhurst Foundation for your generous support which makes this concert possible.

Home Top of Page e-mail us Site Map

© 2004 - 2020 Friends of Music of Stamford NY, Inc. — All Rights Reserved