Friends of Music Logo


Musicians of


June 21, 2015

3:00 PM at the
United Methodist Church
88 Main St, Stamford NY Calendar General Info Contact FoM Donate Founders & VIPs Concert Archive

Photo of the Musicians of Ma'alwyck

The Musicians of Ma’alwyck (left to right): Ann-Marie Barker Schwartz, Director and violin; Sten Isachsen, guitar and Norman Thibodeau, flute.

Musicians of Ma’alwyck is a flexible-size chamber ensemble in residence at the Schuyler Mansion New York State Historic Site and Schenectady County Community College. Founded in 1999 by violinist and director Ann-Marie Barker Schwartz, the group specializes in music performed in America during the Eighteenth and Nineteenth Centuries. Many of the performing materials are drawn from the Special Collections of the New York State Library.

The group was brought to the attention of Friends of Music by restaurateur Jeannette Balins when Ms. Barker Schwartz and a colleague performed for a benefit held last year in Cobleskill. Knowing what discerning ears the Balins family has we are very happy to have the chance to hear the ensemble in Stamford this year.

In 2002, Musicians of Ma’alwyck performed by invitation for television producer Norman Lear in celebration of his purchase of the last private copy of the Declaration of Independence. The group has been presented on National Public Radio, WMHT-FM and WMHT-TV. In 2009 they produced the 1783 opera The Poor Soldier by William Shield, drawing national attention. Musicians of Ma’alwyck was named the best chamber music ensemble of the Capital Region for both 2008 and 2009 by Metroland. In 2009 the ensemble made its television documentary debut performing in a film titled Greene County USA.

Please click here to read more about the individual artists or visit the ensemble’s Web site at to read more about them and to hear samples of their work.

Admission is at the door by suggested donation of $12 for adults, $6 for senior citizens and students and anyone under 13 years of age is admitted at no charge. For complete details see our General Information page.

Thank you to all of our donors and especially to the Robinson-Broadhurst Foundation for your generous support which makes this concert possible.


June 21, 2015

Musicians of Ma’alwyck

Ann-Marie Barker Schwartz, Director and violin
Sten Isachsen, guitar
Norman Thibodeau, flute

Magnifico! Wonderful Italian Chamber Music


Sonata in G Major for Violin and Guitar


Pietro Locatelli


Trio in A Major, Op. 1/4


Maddalena Sirman


Duetto for Flute and Violin, Op. 5/2 in E Minor

Minuetto, ma un poco adagio
Rondo: Allegro

Bartolomeo Campagnoli

— Intermission —


Overture to La Gazza Ladra of Rossini

Transcribed by
Ferdinando Carulli


Cantabile for Violin and Guitar

Niccolò Paganini


Six Variations for Flute and Guitar, Op. 81

Thema: Grazioso
Variations 1-6

Mauro Giuliani


Grand Trio in D Major Op. 9/2 for Flute, Violin and Guitar

Romance: Largo
Rondo: Allegretto

Ferdinando Carulli

Program Notes

When Musicians of Ma’alwyck concluded its 2013-14 season with a trio by Carulli for flute, violin and guitar, we never dreamed that the piece would be the hit of the concert. Audience members raved about it and asked if there were more works we could play by Carulli. We listened and decided to base a program entirely on Italian chamber works from the late Baroque through early Romantic period. We found a surfeit of truly wonderful and underplayed works, including a trio by a female Classical era violinist-composer named Maddalena Laura Lombardini Sirman, a protégée of the great violinist Tartini. Another gem on the program is the duo for flute and violin by Bartolomeo Campagnoli, whose études are still used today as instructional repertory. And, of course, what Italian music concert would be complete without a work by Rossini, in this case the iconic overture to his 1817 opera The Thieving Magpie, in a brilliant arrangement by Carulli, showing his great ability to capture the essence of this full orchestral overture with only three instruments. The program is rounded out with a wonderful sonata by violinist Pietro Locatelli from the late Baroque era, a fun set of variations on a theme by the one of the great early Romantic guitar composers, Mauro Giuliani and a beautiful slow single movement by violin virtuoso Paganini.

Home Top of Page e-mail us Site Map

© 2004 - 2020 Friends of Music of Stamford NY, Inc. — All Rights Reserved