Friends of Music Logo

Presenting the

String Quartet


December 2, 2018

3 PM at the
Stamford United Methodist Church
88 Main St, Stamford NY Calendar General Info Contact FoM Donate Founders & VIPs Concert Archive

Photo of Iceberg String Quartet

Iceberg String Quartet, pictured above, left to right:
Russell Iceberg, violin; Chung Han Hsiao, viola;
Chris Stork, violin and Jacob Efthimiou, cello.

To cap off a stellar season, the Iceberg String Quartet will perform for the Friends of Music annual Holiday Concert. Russell Iceberg, violin; Chris Stork, violin; Chung Han Hsiao, viola and Jacob Efthimiou, cello met at McGill University's Schulich School of Music in Montreal, Quebec, Canada. To quote Mr. Iceberg, for the Quartet “performing is a chance to explore what it means to be human.”

The Iceberg String Quartet won the McGill Chamber Music Competition in 2017 and was chosen for the “Evolution of the String Quartet” study and performance program at the Banff Centre for Arts and Creativity in Alberta, Canada in 2018.

The Banff Centre produced a short, insightful film introducing the artists as they discuss their interactions within the string quartet format personally and musically, alternating with footage of them in performance. This engaging and highly-recommended video can be seen on YouTube at or search the site for "Iceberg String Quartet."

Anyone who has attended Friends of Music concerts over the years will likely remember hearing the “Efthimiou Four” of Delhi in a number of performances, seeing the four siblings grow up and witnessing their progress as dedicated young musicians. Or in more recent years one may have watched their often-broadcast performance on the Expressions: Classical Series on WSKG television. It is a true pleasure to come full circle and welcome the youngest of the four, cellist Jacob Efthimiou, for this concert as a member of the Iceberg String Quartet. How wonderful to know that one of these talented young professionals arose from our midst.


December 2, 2018

Iceberg String Quartet

Russell Iceberg, violin
Chris Stork, violin
Chung Han Hsiao, viola
Jacob Efthimiou, cello

Ludwig van Beethoven (1770-1827)

    String Quartet No. 11 in F minor, Op. 95 ("Serioso," 1810)
1. Allegro con brio (F minor)
2. Allegretto ma non troppo (D major)
3. Allegro assai vivace ma serioso (F minor) - Trio (D major)
4. Larghetto espressivo - Allegretto agitato (F minor)

Anton Webern (1883-1945)

     Langsamer Satz (The Slow Movement, 1905)
1 - Langsam, mit bewegtem-Ausdruck


Claude Debussy (1862-1918)
String Quartet in G minor, Op. 10 (1892-1893)

1. Animé et très décidé
2. Assez vif et bien rythmé
3. Andantino, doucement expressif
4. Très modéré – En animant peu à peu –
     Très mouvementé et avec passion

Admission for this concert is free to the general public, though donations are gratefully accepted. Refreshments will be served after the performance catered by The Tulip and the Rose Restaurant of Franklin, NY.

Thank you!” to all of our donors and especially to the Robinson-Broadhurst Foundation for your generous support which makes this concert and our entire season possible. It's been another amazing year of music!

Home Top of Page e-mail us Site Map

© 2004 - 2020 Friends of Music of Stamford NY, Inc. — All Rights Reserved