Friends of Music Logo


Pegasus: the Orchestra and
Karén Hakobyan


September 15, 2019

3 PM at the
Stamford United Methodist Church
88 Main St, Stamford NY Calendar General Info Contact FoM Donate Founders & VIPs Concert Archive

Photo of Pegasus the Orchestra

Photo of Karen Hakobyan Pictured above: Pegasus: the Orchestra and at left, Karén Hakobyan, Artistic Director and Principal Conductor.

Pegasus: the Orchestra brings together seventeen of its members to present three American masterpieces. Through history and geography, Americana reflects on the American landscape in its triumph and turbulence, with a presentation of Copland’s Appalachian Spring and Samuel Barber’s Adagio for Strings. Karén Hakobyan (who will perform and conduct from the piano) will also share his arrangement of George Gershwin’s Rhapsody in Blue — a bold and exuberant jewel of classical jazz. A nod to America’s past, Pegasus: the Orchestra reminds audiences of the American music melting pot.

Described as “a musician of abundant gifts and bountiful ideas” by New York Concert Review, and “an immensely talented and dynamic performer” by Deseret Morning News, Armenian-American pianist and composer Karén Hakobyan has emerged as a versatile force on the international musical scene. Since his Carnegie Hall debut at the age of seventeen, he has performed in major concert halls in Armenia, Argentina, Mexico, Germany, France, Japan, and the United States. He is a top prizewinner of multiple international piano and composition competitions and holds degrees from the Manhattan School of Music, Mannes College of Music, and the University of Utah. Hakobyan has appeared as a soloist with many orchestras across several continents. His performances have been broadcasted on WQXR (New York’s classical radio atation), WMFT (Chicago’s classical radio station), Argentine National Radio, Monterrey’s (Mexico) Op. 102 radio station, and Armenian National Radio. He is the Founder and Artistic Director of Pegasus: the Orchestra, based in New York.

Pegasus: the Orchestra is a nonprofit professional orchestra-in-residence at Mana Contemporary with a mission to empower rising musicians with artistic freedom and promote innovative repertoire in an environment of creative thought and expression. Led by Karén Hakobyan, the orchestra brings together musicians and audiences of diverse backgrounds and cultural heritages by harnessing the power of music. Pegasus: the Orchestra continues its residency at Mana Contemporary with a diverse third season of new and classic works, featuring orchestra, piano, jazz and chamber concerts with plans to expand to youth and world music series in the fall of 2019. Outside its residency, Pegasus has its debut performance in Merkin Hall on November 23, 2019 featuring the New York Philharmonic’s legendary former concertmaster, Glenn Dicterow and Pegasus’ own concertmaster Eiko Kano performing Bach’s Double Violin Concerto among other works conducted by Mr. Hakobyan as well as its Lincoln Center debut featuring five piano starts performing all Rachmaninoff Piano Concerti in one evening in Alice Tully Hall on May 29, 2020.

Our passions: artistic freedom, performance opportunity, innovative repertoire, weaving strong community fabric, the right to music education, and promoting humanity and equality. To learn more about Pegasus, visit

Admission is at the door only by suggested donation of $12 for adults, $6 for senior citizens and students and anyone under 13 years of age is admitted at no charge. Catered refreshments served after the concert are included with the admission donation.

This concert is made possible, in part, with public funds from the New York State Council on the Arts Decentralization Grant Program, administered in Delaware County by The Roxbury Arts Group, Inc.

Logo of the New York State Council on the Arts Logo of the Roxbury Arts Group

Thank you to all of our donors and especially to the Robinson-Broadhurst Foundation for your generous support which makes this concert and our entire season possible.


September 15, 2019

Pegasus: the Orchestra

Karén Hakobyan, Artistic Director and Principal Conductor

Violin I
Eiko Kano, concertmaster
Gary Capozziello

Violin II
Stani Dimitrova, principal
Mialtin Zhezha

Yumi Oshima, acting principal
Carol Gimbel

Sam Bae, principal
Julia Kang

Patrick Duff, acting principal

Kaori Fujii,principal

Arthur Sato, principal

Narek Arutyunian, principal

Joshua Hodge, acting principal

French Horn
Cort Roberts, principal

Maximilian Morel, principal

Daniel Linden, acting principal

Karén Hakobyan, conductor and pianist


Aaron Copland (1900-1990)
Appalachain Spring Suite
(Original version for 13 instruments)

Samuel Barber (1910-1981)
Adagio for Strings

George Gershwin (1898-1937)
Rhapsody in Blue
(arranged by Hakobyan for 18 instruments)

Program subject to change.

Home Top of Page e-mail us Site Map

© 2004 - 2019 Friends of Music of Stamford NY, Inc. — All Rights Reserved