Concerts are held every 3rd Sunday, April through November and the 1st Sunday of December.

Due to ongoing COVID-19 concerns for the safety of our artists and concert patrons, and in compliance with restrictions on social activities, we anticipate additional concerts will be cancelled, but in the spirit of optimism we will wait to decide as the dates approach. Please return to this site for the most current information on our schedule.

Loading Events

« All Events

  • This event has passed.

Pegasus, the Orchestra: Brandenburg Concerti & more

June 16 @ 3:00 pm - 4:00 pm


Sunday, June 16 , 2024 at 3pm 

Generously hosted by the First Presbyterian Church, 96 Main St., Stamford, NY

Suggested donation: $15 adults, $10 students and seniors, free for ages 13 and under

No reservations required.

Friends of Music of Stamford, NY presents a special concert focused on some of the most innovative Baroque masterpieces performed by Pegasus: the Orchestra, conducted by artistic director Karén Hakobyan from the harpsichord. The program will include Vivaldi’s Trio Sonata in D Major, Bach’s Sonata in G Major, Vivaldi’s “Spring” from Four Seasons, Concerto No. 1 in E Major, and Bach’s Brandenburg Concerti No. 4 and No. 5, featuring soloists Eiko Kano, violin, Shelby Yamin, violin and Kaori Fujii, flute.

Listen to Karén Hakobyan’s interview with WSKG’s Bill Snyder here.

Pegasus: The Orchestra
Karén Hakobyan | Artistic director, principal conductor, & harpsichord
Eiko Kano | Concertmaster & violin solois
Shelby Yamin | Violin, principal
Stani Dimitrova | Violin, principal
Carol Gimebl | Viola, principal
Serafim Smigelskiy | Cello, principal
Milad Daniari | Contrabass, principal
Kaori Fujii | Flute, principal
Katie Althen | Flute
A. Vivaldi: Trio Sonata in D Major, RV 84 for flute, violin and harpsichord
 I. Allegro
II. Andante
III. Allegro
J. S. Bach: Trio Sonata in G Major, BWV 1038 for flute, violin, harpsichord and cello
 I. Largo
II. Vivace
III. Adagio
IV. Presto
A. Vivaldi: “Spring” from Four Seasons, Concerto No. 1 in E Major, OP. 8
I. ​Allegro 
II. Largo e pianissimo sempre
III. Allegro pastorale 
J. S. Bach: Brandenburg Concerto No. 4 in G major, BWV 1049
I. Allegro
II. Andante
III. Presto
J. S. Bach: Brandenburg Concerto No. 5 in D major, BWV 1050
I. Allegro
II. Affettuoso
III. Allegro
EIKO KANO | Concertmaster & violin soloist 
Praised as an artist with “electrifying intensity and lyrical expression,” New York City-based Japanese violinist Eiko Kano is an internationally recognized soloist as well as a chamber musician frequently collaborating with distinguished artists. A prizewinner of international competitions, Kano serves as assistant concertmaster at the Albany Symphony Orchestra and regularly plays in the New York Philharmonic. She is the concertmaster and senior artistic advisor of Pegasus: The Orchestra. In 2016, she launched the critically acclaimed production A Manhattan Story with a unique style of violin music and storytelling. In 2018, Kano founded the ensemble The New Yorkers, featuring Karén Hakobyan as her duo partner. They have been performing extensively in the U.S. and Japan.
Born in Tokyo and residing in New York City, Kaori Fujii has emerged as one of the leading imaginative and creative flutists to come out of the classical music world. Fujii has graced the stage of leading concert halls, such as The John F. Kennedy Center, Carnegie Hall, Alte Oper Frankfurt, and Tokyo Opera City Concert Hall. In 2014, Fujii founded Music Beyond, Inc.—a nonprofit organization that harnesses the universal power of music to empower and transform people’s lives in the Democratic Republic of the Congo (DRC) in Central Africa. She frequently visits DRC to provide music teacher training and women’s empowerment programs and help build music curriculum for local schools.
KARÉN HAKOBYAN | Principal conductor & harpsichord
Described as “a musician of abundant gifts and bountiful ideas” by New York Concert Review, and “an immensely talented and dynamic performer” by Deseret Morning News, Armenian American pianist, composer, and conductor Karén Hakobyan is a versatile force on the international music scene. Since his Carnegie Hall debut at the age of seventeen, he has performed in major concert halls in Armenia, Argentina, Mexico, Germany, UK, Belgium, France, Japan, and the U.S. Hakobyan is a top prizewinner of multiple international piano and composition competitions and holds degrees from the Manhattan School of Music, Mannes College of Music, and the University of Utah.
Karén Hakobyan, artistic director and principal conductor
Founded in 2017 by composer-arranger and conductor Karén Hakobyan, Pegasus: the Orchestra is a nonprofit professional orchestra with a mission to empower rising musicians with artistic freedom and promote innovative repertoire in an environment of creative thought and expression. Hailed by New York Concert Review as “a truly first-rate ensemble” Pegasus’s recent highlights include performances in Alice Tully Hall at Lincoln Center, Merkin Concert Hall, on Al Jazeera, Voice of America TV Network, Ardzagang Armenian TV, the Russian Television Network of America, The Voice of Armenians TV program on the NYC Life Channel, WGCH, WQXR, and WSKG Radio. Pegasus: the Orchestra is an ensemble with exclusive Yamaha sponsorship. Noteworthy upcoming events for Pegasus include programs featuring 2007 Tchaikovsky International Competition gold medalist Sergey Antonov, cellist; and award-winning pianist Asiya Korepanova.
Pegasus is passionate about fostering artistic freedom, creating performance opportunities, programming innovative repertoire, weaving a strong community fabric, advocating for the right to music education, and promoting humanity and equity. Tax-deductible donor support helps secure the growth of Pegasus: the Orchestra’s groundbreaking endeavor by providing vital funding for programs and performances. To learn more about Pegasus and support us via tax deductible donation, visit


June 16
3:00 pm - 4:00 pm


First Presbyterian Church
96 Main Street
Stamford, NY 12167 United States
+ Google Map